Archive

Archive for November 3, 2009

“Reaching New Heights” or “Werit Would be Pissed”

November 3, 2009 4 comments

My first character in Dragon Age: Origins will not be a dwarf. Forgive me Werit. I have played a dwarf character for the longest time. For some strange reason, perhaps the fact that I am vertically challenged myself, I gravitate toward the dwarf race in any RPG.

But I recently made the mistake of watching 20 minutes of the beginning of the dwarf origins story. And that will keep me from choosing a dwarf character because I want my DA:O experience to be completely novel.

I think I will be a human warrior. How original!

What race/class are you going for as your first character?

Categories: Dragon Age: Origins

“Work is Overrated” or “Food is Overrated”

November 3, 2009 1 comment

Dragon Age: Origins is now officially unlocked on Steam. Several of my friends have called me saying they are playing it now. My own sister is playing it at home.

Dragon Age: Origins

I am stuck at work for another three to four hours. And then I have a business dinner to attend. So I won’t get to it for another six hours.

Damn you real life! Damn you nutritious food!

Categories: Dragon Age: Origins

“Requisite Retort” or “Infringement Initiated”

November 3, 2009 2 comments

Quest Online, the developers of the upcoming (and now delayed) Alganon have come under some fire recently from the blogger community. They recently had a chat with the folks over at Massively. President and Co-Founder David Allen answered (dodged) a bunch of questions regarding the MMO. One statement in particular stood out to me.

“I’m not upset we’re being compared to the most successful multi-billion dollar MMOG [WoW] on the market.”
- David Allen, President and Co-Founder, Quest Online

 

Goldshiristan

See anything familiar? (Click to enlarge)

Oh really? Maybe that is because everything in your game, including graphics and the smallest UI elements, are shamelessly copied from WoW. Hey-oh! :P

 

You can read the full interview here, if you are so inclined.

Categories: Alganon, World of Warcraft

“Inconsequential Death” or “Maybe I got a Deathwish”

November 3, 2009 Leave a comment

Thought of the day: As I detailed in the second part of The Borderlands Chronicles, the death system is designed to ensure you never have to reload. But what if you wanted to relive a firefight you particulaly enjoyed?

“Massively Multiplayer Online City Builder” or “Roads Are Srsbusiness!”

November 3, 2009 Leave a comment

I have always been a fan of the Sim City franchise, but couldn’t fathom the genre dabbling into the MMO market. The two just seem… at odds. So I was glad when I read Jim Rossignol review of the game over at Eurogamer, and realized that the game is not worth the investment. At least not yet.

Here is an excerpt:

“I’ve enjoyed myself here, but Cities XL does not live up to its ambitions. The solo city-builder is a well-paced project for those who like to plot boulevards, but the appeal of the larger game remains unresolved. This is one game we’ll be returning to in due course where – all being well – a re-review should cast things in a slightly different light.”

Jim gives it a disappointing 6/10.

You can read the full review of Cities XL here.

Categories: Cities XL, Opinion, Review
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.