Archive

Archive for November 17, 2009

They Said Whaaaat?: “The Neverending Story” or “Additional ‘Ship’ping Costs”

November 17, 2009 Leave a comment

“We’re definitely planning to add more and more ships to the game as we move on. It’s the nice part about designing an MMO – it’s never really finished.” – Cryptic, responding to additional ship types in Star Trek Online, post-launch.

*facepalm*

Could have been put better I suppose…

“14% Massive?” or “Online Surge”

November 17, 2009 Leave a comment

News item of the day:

According to the research firm The NPD Group, 76% of U.S. households have access to Internet connections. Whereas 14% of Americans now have one form of online gaming subscriptions or another.

Notice that ‘online subscriptions’ may include Xbox live subscriptions as well. That being said, it goes to show that ths genre will grow tremendously in the years to come.

You can read the full article here: 14% of Americans signed up to online gaming services.

Categories: Article of the Week

“Sell-outs” or “How Does That Even Happen?”

November 17, 2009 3 comments

A friend pointed this out… I thought it was hilarious, so I am sharing it.

Categories: World of Warcraft

“Subscription Blues” or “$15 Holes in my Pocket”

November 17, 2009 4 comments

I am going through subscription blues. I am currently paying for four subscriptions: World of Warcraft, Champions Online, and EvE Online x 2. However, with the recent release of Borderlands, Torchlight, Dragon Age Origins, Modern Warfare, and now Left 4 Dead 2 and Assassin’s Creed II, I haven’t had much time to log in and play my favorite MMOs.

In fact, it struck me yesterday that I haven’t logged into any of these MMO’s in well over two weeks. This inevitably led to a curious feeling of guilt. I make good money, but it is honest money. It is almost as if I am spending a good $65 or so a month to keep a subscription going even when I am not really playing the game all that often.

It is an interesting conundrum. I convince myself that I can log in if sufficiently bored, while simultaneously aware of the fact that those accounts sit rotting, burning $15 holes in my pockets, and, at least for now, I can’t be bothered.

You ever get to that stage? Halfway between guilty and uncaring? Never really comfortable with spending seemingly unnecessary money, but too apathetic to do anything about it. See I could log in tonight, just for the sake of logging in. But that would be wrong. I want to log in and play when I really want to, not because I am allowing my subscription money to twist my own arm.

Categories: Opinion
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.