Home > Mafia II, Red Dead Redemption, Review, Star Wars: The Force Unlesahed II, Vanquish > “Honesty is the Best Review Policy” or “Too Many Games on my Plate”

“Honesty is the Best Review Policy” or “Too Many Games on my Plate”

I have a metric ton of video games to play through right now. I just finished Medal of Honor, but that doesn’t feel like much of an accomplishment, since the single player portion lasted all of five hours and some change. That and it wasn’t as epic, except for select, spectacularly scripted events, as that certain other video game the name of which I quite forget right now.

Then there is Red Dead Redemption, of which I have played the beginning 7-8 hours twice now, and the only way to continue playing is to do it again. The first time my ROM was corrupted. When that got fixed, my hard drive crashed, killing all save data. So now I can either forget Red Dead Redemption, and just enjoy the Zombie goodness in Undead Nightmare DLC, or start over. Again. I haven’t made up my mind about that yet.

Then there is Enslaved, Halo: Reach (not particularity impressed so far honestly), Plants vs. Zombies (sheer brilliance), Mafia II, Vanquish and Fallout: New Vegas.

And before I can even think of finishing any of these, we already have Fable III, Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II and Call of Duty: Black Ops out. *sigh*

Muhahahaha indeed!

Being an addict though, despite my massive backlog of titles, I couldn’t help but indulge myself in some reviews to see which of the three new releases mentioned above were worth investing in. The one that intrigued me most was Fable III, partly because the title has managed to generate a lot of hype around it, partly because it features some of the greatest voice talent cast, and partly because a diseased part of me hopes and begs and prays each day that Peter Molyneux would release something that actually lives up to the incredible amount of hype he manages to generate around his games. The reviews I came across ranged from “mildly mediocre” to “stupendously superb”, and the range of opinions was so wide and disparate, that I couldn’t make up my mind about buying the title.

That is till I came across Michael Abbott’s review of the game over at The Brainy Gamer. In recent memory, that is probably the most comprehensive, honest and unbiased review I have read about a video game. Granted it is only for the first few hours, but I for one will be monitoring Abbot’s progress and feedback on the game to see if it improves or degenerates. Abbott, if you’re reading this, you alone have the power now to make Mr. Molyneux another $59.99. Rock on!

Keen on the other end, is quite happy with his first ten minutes in the game.

  1. elleseven
    November 2, 2010 at 9:20 pm | #1

    The only thing I really enjoyed about MOH was getting the Frontline download. Playing that old game again was so much more enjoyable. Even though the graphics aren’t as good the content/gameplay wins.

    Screaming monkeys said SWFU2 finishes in less than 5 hours too. :(

    • November 2, 2010 at 9:36 pm | #2

      Too much scripting killed that game. There was one point where I stabbed a guy in the back. He just stood there. I stabbed him again, again, no death, and worse, no REACTION. Then my AI controlled partner walks up to him grabs him from behind and slices the poor bastard throat. And that is when he decides to die.

      That’s dumb, it completely takes away from both the realism and the level of control a players feels while playing.

  2. xXJayeDuBXx
    November 2, 2010 at 9:20 pm | #3

    I know of this backlog, it’s a large unforgiving beast that constantly wants your attention. Red Dead Redemption is a great game, hopefully at some point you will get the chance to play through the whole thing.

    • November 2, 2010 at 9:33 pm | #4

      And it will keep growing as Christmas approach. Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, one of my favorite series of all time, will be out mid-November, and I know I won’t touch anything else till that is done. *sigh*

  3. November 3, 2010 at 6:11 am | #5

    Thanks for the Michael Abbott link. I am curious to hear about his experience, because I too have been confused by the disparate reviews on Fable III. I’ll definitely play it, but that might not be for a little while, so it’s good to have some constructive feedback on the game.

  4. November 12, 2010 at 7:17 pm | #6

    Hi Bronte. Thanks for reading and mentioning my post on Fable III. I have finished the game, and I think it’s worth playing, despite its many flaws. Molyneux and team are always up to something interesting, and I enjoy seeing them grapple with difficult design issues, even when they fail. I hope to write another post soon that picks up where the first one left off. The second half of F3 didn’t address any of my initial complaints, but it still filled my plate with fun things to see and do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

