Archive

Archive for November 25, 2010

“Mass Effect 2: A Matter of Numbers” or “I’m Special!”

November 25, 2010 2 comments

The Cerberus Network just released this infographic about statistics tracked for their every popular Mass Effect universe (courtesy Kotaku). According to this infographic, I am in the minority in just about every category:

  • I did not change Shepard’s face at all (17%), but…
  • I played the default female (18%). No offense Shepard, but if I am going to look at someone’s buns for the next 40 hours, I’d prefer a female avatar!
  • I played an Infiltrator, I loves my Tactical Cloak and my Sniper Rifles! (35%)
  • I love Garrus’ character, I hate his abilities. I normally had Mordin/Miranda, or later on Miranda/Tali.
  • I never let Grunt out of his tank (10%)! I killed Wrex in the first game, never really favored the Krogan after that.
  • This isn’t a minority/majority statistic, but I was in the 50% of players who fully upgraded the Normandy.
  • This is probably the only statistic that I match with. Tali died at the end when I sent her back with the survivors. I had Samara, Miranda, Jacob, Thane, Legion, Zaeed, Tali, Mordin, Jack and Garrus, with Grunt never out of his tank. So with one of ten dead, I lost 10% of squad mates in the end-game. That’s pretty close to 14%.
  • I did side with Cerberus in the end (36%). The Illusive Man may be a douchebag, but I am all for advancing the interests of humanity by any means necessary.
Categories: Mass Effect 2

“Incursion Imminent” or “Sansha, Online”

November 25, 2010 2 comments

Eve’s latest expansion introduces the largest invasion ever faced off by the separate clans of humanity, as the universe comes under fire by the Sansha Nation.

However, the expansion also brings several added features, some less known than others.

Here are the top three reasons for trying out Eve Online: Incursion.

Better Character Portraits

Your in-game avatars get an overhaul, finally, after nine long years. Gone are the cartoony, still portraits. The new system allows you to create a near photo-realistic avatar that is highly customizable and animated. This isn’t the much anticipated “Incarna” expansion that allows you to walk around in space-stations, but it is a welcome step in the right direction. It does seem from the solitary shot provided however, that the editor no longer supports hair! But don’t worry, there’s probably a new skill available to train that ability too!

EDIT: Some additional screenshots below that I found over at Screapheap-Challenge.

Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

 

Click to enlarge.

 

Who Let the Sansha out?

The Sansha Nation is out for blood. They are back in superior numbers with better, more advanced ships and weaponry, and they are gunning for CONCORD space. That’s not all! The intruding sansha have been equipped with better, smarter AI and their advantage in battle increases exponentially with numbers as they use clever mechanics and tactics to outsmart all resistance.

Supercarriers and Fighter-bombers join the Sansha fleet as they march through the constellations. In addition they are supported by a massive new ship flagship known as the Revenant.

Click to enlarge.

 

Click to enlarge.

 

Click to enlarge.

 

 

I, Noctis

There are a ton of other features, such as 40 new story missions, overhaul to the server hardware to support more and more players in the single-shard universe, ordinance overhaul and so on. But perhaps one of the biggest changes is the inclusion of the Noctis, a dedicated salvage ship from ORE.

Featuring 5% bonus to Salvage and Tractor Beam cycle times, a roomy 8/2/3 module capacity and a time saving 60% increase in Tractor Beam range this is one workhorse every salvager is going to be looking to get their hands on. Blueprints and ships will both be available on the market at select stations.

8/2/3 is a hell of a load-out! Rock on CCP!

Click to enlarge.

 

Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

Finally, the trailer is below. Enjoy!

Categories: Eve Online
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.