Archive

Archive for January 12, 2011

“I’m an Idiot” or “Expanding the Blogroll”

January 12, 2011 1 comment

Being the idiot that I am, I realized today that I have added quite a few blogs to my reader, but never actually got artound to adding them to my website blogroll. My apologies for that! If you have a blog that I have commented on, or one that has my website on it and would like me to reciprocate, or just have a blog that you think I should read, please do let me know in the comments below. The following are some of the blogs that I read on a near-daily basis:

Categories: Bronte

“Why I Hate Not Being in Rift Beta” or “So Many MMOs, So Little Time”

January 12, 2011 4 comments

Unlike some other folks, I am not happy that I didn’t get into the Rift beta. It also doesn’t help that everyone and their mother is in it!

While I agree with Syp in that betas really tend to ruin (or at the very least dilute) launch day experiences (I am going through that with Cataclysm at the moment – everything is new, except I experienced it all in beta four months ago), I am increasingly aware of how little time I have on my hands these days. I have a blooming career, I got engaged recently, and I am writing for both this blog and a local magazine. There simply aren’t enough hours in the day.

So keeping that in mind, it would be very beneficial to be able to experience betas of an upcoming MMO, both because I am very good at providing constructive feedback, and because it will clarify for me whether of not I want to invest in the title when the final (hopefully polished) title launches. And this applies to every beta out there, not just Rift.

Which side of the fence do you lean on? Would you rather get in the beta? Or avoid it for the launch day experience altogether?

Categories: Beta, Rift
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.