Home > Dominion, League of Legends > “LoL: Dominion Destruction” or “The Most Fun I’ve Had Online in Months”

“LoL: Dominion Destruction” or “The Most Fun I’ve Had Online in Months”

You know that moment, when you get up from your PC, and cheer out loud, because you accomplished something so insanely unachievable, you can’t believe you did it yourself? That is what happened to me in my first Dominion match in League of Legends.

I was playing with a friend. This friend was in the same room as me, sitting to my left. A third guy, someone we had randomly met online was also in the game. The last two spots on our team were filled by pugs.

The match started, and we started rotating through the various nodes. The three of us managed to hold on to two nodes and kept methodically pushing a third, the other two players milled about in the middle and occasionally assaulted their nodes closer to their nexus. The enemy was able to dedicate four champions against our three, and of the two nodes, we occasionally lost one, and fell back long enough to capture another node, bringing us back to the status quo of 2 nodes. We were effectively bleeding points throughout the game. By the end, their nexus had 350 points left, ours had only 1.

We were losing, badly.

And then something magical happened. Through no coordinated effort of our team, we managed to neutralize two nodes and capture three. For the next six or so minutes, we fought for our lives as we pushed against the enemy, interrupting node channeling and keeping them from capturing even a single node. They came close several times, beleaguered and disrupted, desperately trying to get that one final point that would bring them victory. But somehow, through sheer willpower and an unprecedented amount of effort, our team managed to keep them at bay.

The match ended with 0:1, in our favor. They lost all 350+ points against our final point. We shoved our chairs back, threw our fists in the air and cheered. It was one of the greatest moments I have ever had in online gaming.

And that, my friends, is why we play.

  1. October 11, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Dominion does do those experiences very well. I’ve had a few like that, but never from 350 to 1, very impressive.

    • October 11, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      And that was my first Dominion match. Unfortunately that night, my ISP conked out a few times, so I disconnected from two games. Now I am banned for a day!

  2. October 11, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I had one of those moments too, and happened to have fraps running to capture it all:

    This was when it was still in beta, and they were only doing limited play sessions so it was still new to most players. Still though, watching our nexus hang on to 1 health seeming forever was nerve wracking. Then to win it was just pure, exciting and best of all – fun!

    • October 11, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      Oh wow! I really wish I had Fraps running through that. I should probably do that from now on, I have a massive hard drive and it’s not like LoL takes a lot of RAM or graphical power!

  3. October 11, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    That’s pretty cool. I am really going to have to check this game out.

    • October 11, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      Do it Dub, don’t just say it AND BUILD MY HOPES UP UNNECESSARILY!

  4. October 11, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    That sounds super cool. One of the thing I like about LoL is the fact that smart play can overcome deficits like that.

    • October 12, 2011 at 5:18 am

      Except this wasn’t smart play… this was pure coincidence, and probably a little overconfidence on their part…

  5. Milamber
    October 12, 2011 at 6:56 am

    I’m skipping over LoL in favor of DotA 2. With Icefrog behind it and the original heroes, I think it’s gonna blow the pants off HoN and LoL. Can’t wait to be the phantom lancer and annoy the shit out of people with 6 mirror images of myself with mana burn again.

    Ah, the good ole days.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

