Home > Diablo 3 > “How WoW Influenced Diablo 3″ or “The Previous Title is Misleading”

“How WoW Influenced Diablo 3″ or “The Previous Title is Misleading”

My Witch Doctor died a lot in Nightmare. It took some time and painful calibration to figure out how to help him survive, and so I also read a lot of opinion on the class. Interestingly, the one piece of advice I found to be pretty consistent is: “Don’t be lazy, grind. If you are dying a lot, it is not your abilities, play-style, or curve, it is your gear. Don’t be lazy, grind.”

I want to say that WoW has influenced this grind subtext, and that the “Everything Must Take Longer (TM)” has permeated into the core of Diablo 3, but Diablo has always been about the grind. The major change is that you don’t grind to level-cap, you level-cap and then grind to endgame, but the basic structure stays the same. I feel that the grind of WoW may have influenced it a little, as one form of grind influencing another results in a more grind-oriented approach to game design.

For example, I am constantly short on gold in Diablo 3. I have to spend it on repairs, buying new items that are an upgrade for my incredibly squishy Witch Doctor, to upgrade my jeweler and my blacksmith artisans, combining or removing gems, and I have to buy more stash space. I understand that your stash space is permanently unlocked, as are your Artisan abilities for all characters (on the same regional server and not hardcore). But it still means all of that has to be unlocked once, and so (at least) the first character is extremely grind oriented.

Then again, the AH flipper in my tells me I should just play the AH, make a ton of gold, and do whatever the hell I want to after.

What has your experience been?

Categories: Diablo 3
  1. May 31, 2012 at 12:22 am

    I haven’t started playing it yet…but what region/server are you playing on?

    • May 31, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      No servers. Just regions. I am on EU. Get on it!

  2. theerivs
    May 31, 2012 at 3:02 am

    I have no problem with gold on my wizard so far, Been making some off the AH. But then again I’m still on normal level

    • May 31, 2012 at 3:49 pm

      Yeah I really need to start playing around in the AH. I have been slacking in that regard…

  3. May 31, 2012 at 6:11 am

    My WD just got to Nightmare difficulty too and I can foresee that i’m gonna have to do alot of kiting (paper-thin pets). Have you been playing solo or with friends?

    • May 31, 2012 at 3:49 pm

      Zombie DOgs are pretty much useless in nightmare, or so I have noticed. They can be 1-2 shotted by most normal mobs. the Gargantuan, though, is AMAZING!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

