Home > Arma II, DayZ, ZOMG Zombies! > “DayZ of our LiveZ” or “Seriously, Are People Still Playing?”

“DayZ of our LiveZ” or “Seriously, Are People Still Playing?”

The DayZ craze for me wore off almost as quickly as it engulfed me. There was a point when I played DayZ for 16 hours straight. At the end of those 16 hours, I had a character with damn near nothing, having recently spawned on the coast. Even then I couldn’t get enough.

I have not played DayZ in several weeks, and I haven’t thought much about it either. The reason is fairly simple. With the announcement of the standalone, and the obvious diverting of resources, including the mind of Dean Hall, into its development, DayZ has sort of died. There used to be patches in quick succession, tweaking with weapon ranges and accuracy, fiddling with items, adding new content, experimenting with new ideas. That core philosophy seems to have taken a back seat, as the team behind the mod is working hard to create alpha build of the standalone.

I suppose subconsciously I made the decision that I will just play the standalone version when it is out, instead of suffering through an alpha that the developers have little to no reason to invest in any longer. Are you still playing DayZ? How is Chenarus faring?

Categories: Arma II, DayZ, ZOMG Zombies!
  1. September 19, 2012 at 5:25 am

    lol 16 hours straight??? crazy!
    go play Borderlands 2 now! ;)

    • September 20, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      I can’t until tomorrow, one day behind here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

