Home > The Walking Dead > “TWD Conclusion” or “One Week To Go!”

“TWD Conclusion” or “One Week To Go!”

For those of you coming to the blog for the first time, I have ranted and raved about this brave little title from Telltale Games, on quite a few occasions. The final episode of season one comes out on Tuesday/Wednesday, and will conclude the story for Lee and Clementine. Jim Rossignol over at RPS claims that most players that play the game are good guys, since they tend to make the “right decisions”. I cannot speak to the validity of the truth of said statement, simply because I think there is a critical factor at play here that Jim may have overlooked.

This season of the Walking Dead is a poignant, emotional story, with Lee and Clementine at its very core. Increasingly, I have found myself making decisions that benefit these two (and largely the group when the interests coincide). This is a real achievement for the studio, where they give you the choice to do something, but through the tale they compel you to the point that almost don’t have a choice. I think part of the reason that the statistics trailer for Episode 4 shows most TWD players to be the good guys is because most of them have been compelled by the game to do so.

Categories: The Walking Dead
  1. November 16, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    I was quite surprised by the season 4 stats of which everyone, it seems, did the same as me. I made some choices earlier that were a bit different (I chose to save the dude early on, instead of the lady and I also told whatsername that I would leave in the RV with her). I like to think of myself as a special snowflake but it seems that everyone is essentially doing as you say: the best for Clem and Lee.

    Did you let that kid drop? I certainly did. He was an annoying little bugger who got several group members killed. I was happy to see him go because he was a danger to Clem through his own incompetence and selfishness.

    This game is definitely one of my main contenders for Game of the Year. It’s spectacular and the price point is great.

    • November 18, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      I did not. My reasoning was that despite the outcome, he was trying to protect the group, and until Lee found the items, the bandits had, in fact, left them alone. So he had been doing a decent job.

  2. November 17, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    I am definitely going to pick up this game at some point after all the good things I’ve heard about it. I’m not all to familiar with The Walking Dead mythos having only seen a couple of episodes on tv.

    • November 18, 2012 at 4:22 pm

      I would recommend you play the game, then read the comics, then watch the TV series last.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

