Home > Champions Online, Star Trek Online > “Very Funny Scotty, Now Beam Down my Pants!” or “Picard > Kirk”

“Very Funny Scotty, Now Beam Down my Pants!” or “Picard > Kirk”

Cryptic Studios, a new contender in the MMO arena, is currently neck-deep in three MMOs.

The first is is Champions Online, that I have been writing about quite extensively over the last week or so.

very-funny-scotty-now-beam-down-my-pants-or-picard-gt-kirkThe second is Star Trek Online. Criag Zinkievich, Star Trek Online’s executive producer has recenly confirmed to Videogamer.com that Federation ships will ship (lame pun intended) sometime in early 2010. Anyone who was present for the launch phase of Champions Online has Vietnam-esque flashbacks to the game-breaking changes that were introduced on launch day and beyond. Let’s hope the launch of the studio’s first MMO was a major learning experience and the quality of Star Trek Online is not sacrificed in the name of maintaining said deadline.

Without giving you the date, which I’m not allowed to give out or else the marketing people will come and smack me in the back of the head, I can tell you that the game will be out the first quarter of 2010.
Craig Zinkievich, Executive Producer, Star Trek Online

Cryptic Studios also has a third, as-yet-unrevealed MMO in the works. The screenshots, found here, offer no conclusive clue. But it sure looks cool!

  1. Amosov
    November 2, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    The big problem for Cryptic is that STO’s release date has been imposed on them by CBS/Paramount. They’re clearly bothered by the fact that this license has now been handled by three different developers and been in limbo for almost ten years.

    If what I’ve heard from those in the know is true, I don’t envy their task of working on this project.

  2. November 24, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Great Article , I thought it was grand

    I look forward to more similar postings like this one. Does This Site have a subscription I can subscribe to for new postings?

  3. November 24, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Thanks coopeIdedaWed (Jesus that is a tough name…)

    The blog is less than two months old. I am still trying to get a feel for what I really enjoy writing about, and try to balance that against what my readers may really want to read.

    Regarding subscription, you can use an RSS feedreader to grab the feed fro this side (direct links are in the right column, further down.) There is also a subscribe button 🙂

  1. November 1, 2009 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

