Home > Borderlands, Dragon Age: Origins, Torchlight > “Twelve Days” or “Three Games”

“Twelve Days” or “Three Games”

Werit’s post troubled me.

Life is busy. I am in the middle of a new launch at work, and it’s taking up 12-13 hours a day, at least 6 days a week. I am also writing extensively every day, something I enjoy immensely. I am playing Champions Online, World of Warcraft, EvE Online, and thanks to Syp, I may be starting a 14-day Fallen Earth trial as well. I would say I hate you Syp, but your kid is apparantly Yoda, and you just don’t mess with freakin’ Yoda.

nine-days-or-three-gamesThen there is Risen, Mass Effect (no I never played it before, yes I know that is gamer blasphemy) and an unhealthy obsession with the versus mode in Left 4 Dead to soak up my time.

That being said, I am getting increasingly and acutely aware of three RPG titles that are coming out in the coming nine days, and frankly, I have no idea as to when or how I will play them unless I learn to stay perpetually awake on Red Bull or the Chinese take over the world and enforce day cycles that are 96 hours long.

  • First and foremost, there is Borderlands releasing on October 26. The Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 versions are out already. There are more guns in the game than there are doves flying in slow-mo in a John Woo flick. And that, my friends, is an accomplishment. My infatuation with things that go boom aside, Borderlands looks slick, sly and full of attitude.
  • The very next day we get Torchlight. There are several reasons why this spiritual successor to Diablo may be the next best thing for the RPG genre. First, it’s cheap, just $18. You spend that at cheap dinner on a regular basis. I am sure this would produce more endorphins over the course of several hours instead of momentary relief from hunger pangs. (There is a fat joke in here somwhere, I know it.) Second, the game is randomly generated. Although you follow a pre-determined story arc, all the levels, monsters and even environmental puzzles are procedurally generated. Third, the game is single player, but an MMO will shortly follow. The MMO will also be available at the amazing low price of $0.00.
  • And last but most certainly not the least is the heavy-weight contender from Bioware, Dragon Age: Origins. Popular game outlets have been over-saturated with information, screenshots, concept art, origins videos, character bios, creature profiles, trailers and a breathtaking cinematic. Yet, incredibly, none of us can get enough of it. There is no doubt in my mind that all the bloggers and writers that write about RPGs and games in general will mysteriously disappear on November 3, 2009. That is the date Dragon Age: Origins gets released, and we relinquish our souls to the might and magic of Bioware yet again.

Imagine some sort of clever transition here.

Alec Meer is one of my favorite writers over at Rock, Paper, Shotgun. Most recently, he has been documenting his (mis)adventures in Risen. The Risen Report is now six episodes long, exquisitely detailed, annotated, and opinionated. His style of writing and the structure of The Risen Report has inspired me to document my own journey through one of these upcoming games.

Perhaps you can help me pick one?

  1. October 22, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    I’m not much of a console gamer, but Borderlands looks awesome.

  2. October 22, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Dragon Age 🙂

  3. October 22, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Wow Werit, didn’t see that coming from you at ALL! 😛

  4. October 23, 2009 at 1:46 am

    From the list, the one I’m looking forward to the most is Torchlight. I suspect you’ll get a better story from DA:O, though.

  1. November 1, 2009 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

