Home > Earth & Beyond > “Beyond Earth and Beyond” or “Back From the Dead on Halloween”

“Beyond Earth and Beyond” or “Back From the Dead on Halloween”

Earth & Beyond remains to this day one of my favorite MMOs. I fell in love with the setup and the alternate reality Westwood Studios had constructed, and I wish they had never cancelled it. (If that studio sounds familiar, they were responsible for the Command and Conquer franchise starting in the ’90s. Westwood Studios went defunct in 2003.) Part of the reason I still play EvE Online is because it reminds me on some levels of Earth & Beyond.

bumpyride

The game was live for nearly two years, between September 2002 and September 2004. It was then shut down by EA.

The ENB Emulator Portal is a project dedicated to revive this aging series. Their quest to breathe new life into the game has reached a new juncture as a stress test of the alpha build was announced over the weekend. Despite the fact that I am neck deep in a launch at work, all the games listed in the sidebar, and have an unusually active social life these days, I will be signing up to see if the game can be revived. If you have ever heard of the game, or have a mediocre interest in the space genre, it might be worth checking it out.

Categories: Earth & Beyond
  1. November 2, 2009 at 7:07 am

    I will definitely be checking this out, I loved E&B!

  2. November 10, 2009 at 5:09 am

    How’d the alpha go? I would love to be able to nip about in my old Sha’Ha’Dem ship again

  1. November 1, 2009 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

