Home > Opinion > “Subscription Blues” or “$15 Holes in my Pocket”

“Subscription Blues” or “$15 Holes in my Pocket”

I am going through subscription blues. I am currently paying for four subscriptions: World of Warcraft, Champions Online, and EvE Online x 2. However, with the recent release of Borderlands, Torchlight, Dragon Age Origins, Modern Warfare, and now Left 4 Dead 2 and Assassin’s Creed II, I haven’t had much time to log in and play my favorite MMOs.

In fact, it struck me yesterday that I haven’t logged into any of these MMO’s in well over two weeks. This inevitably led to a curious feeling of guilt. I make good money, but it is honest money. It is almost as if I am spending a good $65 or so a month to keep a subscription going even when I am not really playing the game all that often.

It is an interesting conundrum. I convince myself that I can log in if sufficiently bored, while simultaneously aware of the fact that those accounts sit rotting, burning $15 holes in my pockets, and, at least for now, I can’t be bothered.

You ever get to that stage? Halfway between guilty and uncaring? Never really comfortable with spending seemingly unnecessary money, but too apathetic to do anything about it. See I could log in tonight, just for the sake of logging in. But that would be wrong. I want to log in and play when I really want to, not because I am allowing my subscription money to twist my own arm.

Categories: Opinion
  1. November 17, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Yup, I get the same thing, though it kicks in with two simultaneous subscriptions let alone four; after all one MMOG is more than enough to soak up any available free time I’ve got, so more than that seems a waste. That’s a big reason I’m loving DDOs move to the “Unlimited” version.

  2. Austin
    November 17, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    I always look at subscription fees as “I’ve paid for this month.” I think nothing of paying for a month and then cancelling, and then paying for the next month if I’m still playing. Most MMOs will let you cancel your sub and still log in until your month is up.

    So what I tend to do is when I’m not playing a game much, I cancel my subscription. Then, if I feel a hankering to play again, and my time has lapsed, I just buy another month.

  3. November 17, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    I have been there and done that more than a few times. I was out of work for a few months earlier in the year with a broken foot, and I must have had between free and paid six mmo’s going. I don’t think I want to do that again.

  4. November 18, 2009 at 1:01 am

    i felt bad with aion.. i didn’t like the game.. after about 4 log ins, but i still had a whole month left… i still ended up playing other games (see: Borderlands) instead 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

