Home > Dragon Age: Origins > “Ostagar: Revolutions” or “Sorry About the First Title”

“Ostagar: Revolutions” or “Sorry About the First Title”

It has been a busy day, but at least I got some good news at the end of it. BioWare announced the latest DLC for Dragon Age: Origins, Return to Ostagar.

Ostagar is now infested with the Darkspawn as winter sets in. One of the survivors has escaped and is now seeking the Jedi’s Spectre’s Grey Wardens’ help. The official website lists the following:

  • A return to the battlefields of Ostagar, now thick with darkspawn encamped amidst the snow
  • An opportunity to reclaim the lost arms and armor of a king
  • A second chance to add Dog to your party

The price tag is $5.

Dissecting this piece of news, I came up with the seven points:

  1. Returning to Ostagar is intriguing. Although I am not sure why you could not do that in the first place.
  2. King Maric’s armor looked dashing, pictured in the screenshot above. I would love to get it for my tank character.
  3. Getting another opportunity to add Dog makes little to no difference to me. (Is there a way to lose the Dog in the original campaign. I have never used him, but he is in my camp and I can call on him if absolutely needed.)
  4. The original game cost $55 (tax included) and, according to some accounts, gives 60-80 hours worth of gameplay if you explore the world in detail. A $5 content should subsequently provide me with about 6 hours or so of content. There are other factors that go into it as well, such as the quality of the content, or the progression of the characters involved. But overall, I am looking to be entertained for a good chunk of time.
  5. What was the fate of the prisoner in the cage? One of the screenshots may have already ruined that part, but I am interested in knowing.
  6. Is it possible that there could be another battle at Ostagar, perhaps not the same scale of the first one, but a large clash. More importantly, a clash you and your party could actively participate in and turn the tide. There have been some very memorable battles in Dragon Age: Origins so far, and a few (Redcliffe, for instance) had 20-30 individuals exchanging blows on-screen. But I want to participate in a war. Several hundred against several hundred. I think that would be quite marvelous actually.
  7. I am maybe 25% through the game, so I am not sure if Duncan’s fate in the beginning is final. But a survivor? DUNCAN? Say it is so!

Click to Enlarge.

Categories: Dragon Age: Origins
  1. November 21, 2009 at 3:46 am

    I know it’s only five bucks, but after four or five of these come out, it starts getting a bit expensive. So I might just pass on this.

  2. Leto
    November 21, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I just wish the DLC wasn’t prompted by in-game quest givers. I don’t enjoy seeing Levi the corporate elf trying to sell me content every time I go to camp. Seems a little…pushy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

