Home > Bronte, Opinion, World of Warcraft > “Looking Up” or “A Matter of Perspective”

“Looking Up” or “A Matter of Perspective”

I have been running 5-mans like my life depending on it. Some of it has to do with the fact that the Dungeon Finder Tool makes the whole process incredibly painless and straight-forward. The second reason is that I need upgrades in order to attain the goddamn gear score that stretch my e-peen sufficiently to be considered for higher level content.

I have been a healer in World of Warcraft from the very beginning. I enjoy the role and relish in my ability to pull the group out of impossible situations when a careless player pulls an extra pack or the tank refuses to factor mitigation into his rotation. However, aside from a few of the fights in the three new Ice Crown instances, and the Black Knight encounter in Trial of the Crusader, I can practically AFK heal each 5-man. This allows me some spare time during a dungeon run where I can organize my thoughts and posts for the day.

One of the things I have started doing recently, is looking up.

Put simply, I have started taking screenshots of the, uh, ceilings of the instances I am running. Ask yourself, how many times have you looked up in an instance and marveled at the sheer attention to detail Blizzard is capable of? There is artwork, unique geological features, stretching vistas and a plethora of other new perspectives if you look in places you aren’t used to.

For instance, the shot below is from The Nexus, in the room where you fight Anomalus.

Drak’Tharon Keep is next.

And finally, Halls of Stone.

  1. Leto
    April 14, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    In our day, 40-man tunnel vision didn’t give you time for fancy-pantsy roof staring. Back before stones and dungeon tools made warlock summoning obsolete, and AoE tanking destroyed the need for crowd control. We also had to walk fifty miles in the snow… always looking over our shoulders for snow monkeys.

    Game sure has come a long way in terms of convenience, hasn’t it? Excuse me while I go craft my own Paladin blessings.

  1. April 24, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Leave a Reply

