Home > They said whaaaat? > They Said Whaaaat: “Damnit Dad, Pass the Falafels” or “Hypocritical Concerns”

They Said Whaaaat: “Damnit Dad, Pass the Falafels” or “Hypocritical Concerns”

From Kotaku’s Talk Amongst Yourselves:

Would it kill developers to put more language controls in games? I’ve got a 3 year old son; I’m not worried that he’s going to shoot up a school, but I am worried that he’s going to parrot any foul word he hears. I said “Dammit” in conversation with my wife last summer, and he still gets that word out on (hilarious) occasion. But if he picks up “fuck” or “cunt” from Read Dead Redemption, my wife would throw my 360 into the pond out back.

All I’m asking for is an option to bleep or blank nasty words in videogames. You still get the point of the cursing across. The only result is that you get to avoid awkward situations in mixed company.

In the absence of a rudimentary language filter, I’m afraid that given a similar choice in the future, I’m going to be picking up Super Mario Galaxy 2 instead of the next “M” rated game. Limiting my gameplay to when I’m home and my son is asleep means I’ll probably finish RDR sometime in August.

Sorry to sound like a grumpy old man. Just trying to get the kids off my lawn, metaphorically speaking.

Jerkeye

Categories: They said whaaaat?
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

