Home > Bronte, World of Warcraft > “30 Minutes A Day” or “Why I (Continue To) Play WoW”

“30 Minutes A Day” or “Why I (Continue To) Play WoW”

Why I Come Back to WoW

I got turned off by WoW:WotLK a while back. Part of the reason was because I just didn’t see the point. You busted your ass raiding, you got the top-end gear and in 3 months, a newer, easier instance came out and made all of the older gear utterly obsolete. It was an endless cycle to trying to replace your now-obsolete gear. After a while, I just couldn’t take it any more.

I came back to WoW for several reasons. The first and foremost being that I could find no MMO that I enjoyed as much as I had enjoyed WoW. Champions Online, despite a strong premise, suffered because of a lack of polish, and although Fallen Earth is touted as one of the best in the newcomer batch, I couldn’t really get into it because it was too unforgiving. I still play EVE Online off and on, but with an endless stream of war declarations on our corp and the inability for my alliance to adequately defend itself in hi-sec has rendered the game practically unplayable. Much like Tobold, I ended my EVE Online piloting days primarily because all I was doing was logging in and training my skills.

WoW in 30 Minutes

  • WoW is different. In a half hour, I can finish my fishing and cooking dailies, farm two frost badges, check my auctions and post news ones, and even participate in he tail end of a Wintergrasp struggle (although struggle here is a relative term since the Alliance holds WIntergrasp about 99.99% of the time on Eitrigg server.)
  • The next day, in the same half hour, I can kill Patchwerk for the weekly 5-frost badge farming, do 10 rated arena matches, and 5-cap the horde in Arathi basin.
  • The day after that, and again in the same half hour, I can farm some Oracles rep, respond to a PvP request from a friend who is soloing it out against three hunters in Wintergrasp, level up my coking 35 points, fish up enough Nettlefish to be prepared for our Thursday raid, repair, restock and park my main at the instance portal.

And I suppose for the casual player, therein lies the beauty. You do not need to commit yourself to hours upon hours of instancing, or farming, or PvP’ing. You can log in, blow off some steam, chat with some kids you have been playing WoW with for 5+ years, and log off to take care of other elements in your life.

I can’t really think of any other MMO I have tried that allows me to do that.

Categories: Bronte, World of Warcraft
  1. June 18, 2010 at 1:14 am

    i’m finding its harder and harder to come back to mmos once i’ve unsubscribed.. I tried coming back to WoW twice and each time I stayed for a shorter and shorter time period

  2. June 18, 2010 at 5:49 am

    The ability to just log in and do something in a half hour is definitely one of WoW’s benefits, and the reason why I always come back to WoW even after trying a lot of other MMOs.

    I can log in for a half hour, run a random instance, maybe do some quests, maybe PvP, maybe level my tradeskills, or make some money on the AH. A lot of other games simply don’t give me such varied gameplay with so little time commitment.

    I tried playing Champions Online and Star Trek Online, but while the gameplay was fun, I didn’t feel that there was anything else for me to do when I wasn’t really interested in the game’s main focus. There’s not a lot to do in STO, for example, if you’re not in the mood to shoot Klingons.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

