Home > Fallen Earth > “Failing At Fallen Earth” or “I Wish I Had A Bigger Post-Apocalyptic E-Peen”

“Failing At Fallen Earth” or “I Wish I Had A Bigger Post-Apocalyptic E-Peen”

I am looking forward to Fallen Earth.

Yes I know this title is already out, and I have already given it a shot, swayed by Syp’s endless ranting of how incredibly the game world was. The post-apocalyptic setting is one that has always held a special place in my heart. This is why I have a natural interest in games like the iconic Fallout series, and movies like The Road or the Book of Eli (to name two recent examples).

The reason I stopped playing Fallen Earth after the initial 14-day trial period, in all honesty, was two-fold.

First, graphical glitches. My Fallen Earth game crashed all too often, especially in the tutorial part when you are learning the ropes and trying to get your beatings. There were texture issues, and polygons seemed to undergo nuclear fission and disperse across my screen in stringy patterns. I tried upgrading my video drivers, reading up on forums, but after a few days to trying to rectify the problem, I gave up.

Second, Fallen Earth was too tough for me. I used to be a very hardcore player back in the day, raiding 5-6 times a week, butting my head against C’Thun tentacles with 39 other comrades trying to overcome seemingly impossible odds. But I am no longer a college student with a bunch of free time on my hands. I work a job that I am truly passionate about, where I feel I make a real difference and that I actually enjoy. I am also in a serious relationship that has started its inevitable march towards matrimony. And I have a very active and involved social life.

Long story short, I don’t have nearly as much time as i did back in the day, which forces me to play casual. This is part of the reason why Fallen Earth didn’t appeal to me. The game does almost zero hand-holding. It is the wasteland, you are one of the few survivors, you either get with the program and learn the ropes as needed or you tumble over and wither away in the wind. I felt like Fallen Earth was too much of a time commitment to properly wrap my head around all the complex intricacies, and I simply did not feel like I could spare that time.

That being said, a lot of fellow bloggers have started writing about Fallen Earth recently. And the post-apocalyptic bug has reared its radiation-mutated head again. I am twitching to try out another trial and see if I can make some headway this time. Perhaps I will ask Werit or Syp or Fool’s Age for their help with it this time around.

Categories: Fallen Earth
  1. Milamber
    June 17, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Forget that game and sign up for the Fallout MMO beta. I don’t remember the site but it was on kotaku a few days ago.

  2. June 17, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    I don’t think Syp is playing Fallen Earth anymore since he’s covering LOTRO for Massively. However, Ysharros over at Stylish Corpse is still actively playing (and she has a couple great blog posts up about it), and I will be returning to the Wasteland once my beach trip is over at the end of the month. If you do come back to FE, my character’s name is Slimm; feel free to drop me a line if you need any help.

  3. June 18, 2010 at 8:30 am

    I’ve found Fallen Earth to be a lot of fun so far. I definitely struggled a little at first, but quickly found my feet. I play it very casually, personally. It’s nice that I can accomplish something meaningful in literally a couple of minutes (e.g. queue up crafting for the next 24 hours, hit the auction house, scavenge around a bit for junk/plants). My char is called The Prof – drop me a line if you do try FE again.

  1. June 18, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Leave a Reply

