Home > Account Security, World of Warcraft > “Why Gold Farmers are Stupid” or “The 20K Gold Rush”
  1. December 1, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    As someone who just had his account hacked and banned (literally happened on Sunday afternoon, now totally resolved – kudos, Blizzard); I can tell you that my hacker was no smarter. I, too, had a couple low-level bank characters from which they didn’t bother to steal the gold or sell their banked items. They did, however, sell all the stuff in my bank off my two level 80s; which wasn’t much of anything in value (some herbs, old epics, maybe some leatherworking stuff). They took the several hundred gold off each of my mid-level characters (30+) and DK (68), but I didn’t have to have the gold reimbursed off my 80s; for whatever reason they didn’t take the much larger sums they had.

    Yet, somehow my account was banned for gold-selling. I’m totally confused.

    • December 1, 2010 at 7:58 pm

      You wanna come clean and let us know what you were up to BEFORE your account got hacked? 😛

      • December 1, 2010 at 11:37 pm

        LOL, I wish I knew what caused it. I logged into WoW on Friday night for the first time in about a month. Come Sunday, my account has been banned. The only other thing I can recall looking at on the internet was related to fantasy football. Oh, and Facebook. I’m going to blame Facebook.

        • December 3, 2010 at 2:01 am

          *TINFOIL HAT* Maybe Blizzard sold my login information to Facebook with the whole RealID debacle. *TINFOIL HAT off*

  2. December 2, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Server/Region?

    The new a/s/l, haha!

    • December 2, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Oh wow, an A/S/L reference – I haven’t seen one of those in 15 years! 😀

  3. theerivs
    December 4, 2010 at 3:01 am

    I hacked your account. I was about to use that gold on Night Elf strippers until Blizz booted me.

    You kids got it easy nowadays, I remember in Vanilla, I got hacked I had to send in my Drivers license to blizz to prove it was me, and then it took forever for them to restore it, sans enchants.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

