Home > Cataclysm, The Burning Crusade, World of Warcraft, Wrath of the Lich King > “Avoiding the Cataclysm” or “Off the Beaten Path”

“Avoiding the Cataclysm” or “Off the Beaten Path”

I have played WoW for a long time.

I remember the day I went to get it in snowy Ithaca, NY. Best Buy had already run out of copies by the time I got to the store. The clerk told me they will get more copies within the week and that he was sorry. I left the mall quite upset, it was Thanksgiving break, I wasn’t going home, and I had nine days of vacations with a few other international students in the dorms. As I sat at Pyramid Mall’s entrance, waiting for the local TCAT (Tompkins County Area Transit) bus, I looked to my left and realized they had opened a new target store in the area. The bus wouldn’t be here for another 15 minutes, so I just decided to meander around inside, get a little warmer.

Lo and behold, as I traversed Target’s empty aisles, I came across the game section and to my surprise, there sat nearly 20 unsold copies of World of Warcraft, all new and shiny, waiting for their new (soon-to-be-addict) owners to take them home. I picked up a copy, giddy with excitement and rushed home as quickly as I could. I opened the wrapping, and inserted the first of four discs to start the installation process. the installation took nearly a half hour, but that gave me enough time to go over the game’s gorgeous manual (yes, there used to be manuals kids, and yes, we used to read them).

I leveled a Hunter to level 20. Then I switched servers and leveled a paladin to level 60. I took over a guild. I raided Molten Core and Blackwing Lair. I conquered Ahn’Qiraj and sat on C’Thun’s throne. I wandered the hallways of Naxxaramas. I was there when infernals fell from the skies in the Burning Crusade. I was there when the Lich King emerged in Northrend. I was there through all of it, raiding, PvP’ing, fishing, farming and manipulating the Auction House to damn near gold-cap a character.

Now it is time for Cataclysm, and although initially I was very excited about the expansion, I find now, a day from launch, that I am OK with not playing it on launch day. I am OK with not playing it a month from now. Actually I am OK with not playing it at all. This isn’t because I don’t enjoy WoW, or because I am sick of it. I just think after six years of a love-hate (primarily love) relationship, it is time for a clean break. It is time to find something else to occupy my time with in the long-term. It is time, put simply, to move on. And although I am half-tempted to follow the 10 things to do before you quit WoW list by Elitist Jerks to the letter, I think it’s better to make a quiet exit.

There is the new EVE Corp by Massively’s Brendan Drain. There is the Perpetuum’s free month, courtesy of Chris Cavelle. There is Rift’s beta. SW:TOR, The Secret World, the free-to-play version of Champions Online and Jumpgate Evolution are being crafted as I write this. There is so much to look at now, and so much to look forward to. And as much as I love WoW, there are 12 million others who can band together to take down Deathwing. I will be over here, off of the beaten path, trying out something new.

  1. Mizerboy
    December 6, 2010 at 9:32 pm | #1

    NOOOOO, stay in touch man, no matter what game you are playing.

  2. xXJayeDuBXx
    December 6, 2010 at 9:47 pm | #2

    I completely agree. I too will be one of the few who doesn’t pickup Cataclysm, and I’m ok with that.

  3. December 7, 2010 at 1:50 am | #3

    It sure sounds as if you’re done with it and who can blame you? I will enter Cataclysm and as far as I know now finsh it. But somehow I’ve got the feeling that I’ll put an end to it after that. One day I’ll wake up and just KNOW that I’m done.
    Loved that 10 things-to-do-list btw! It’s old but still somehow relevant.

  4. December 7, 2010 at 6:04 am | #4

    I just couldn’t resist Cataclysm bringing back the feeling of vanilla wow when lower zones were filled, friends were made, the barrens was being raided, world pvp. I really hope alot of that comes back because it is what I originally loved about Warcraft.

  5. December 7, 2010 at 2:16 pm | #5

    @Mizerboy, never man, you got my email and personal contact. We’ll be in touch I’m sure. Plus it’s only a matter of time before SW:TOR comes out, and all of us will switch over.

    @xXJayeDubXx, it’s liberating isn’t it? Not having to feel like you absolutely must get the expansion because, come on, it’s WoW!

    @Larísa, hahaha, that sounds like such an addict’s statement. My father used to say that about smoking all the time, and he still hasn’t quit, even after a quadruple bypass. I wish you good luck in Cataclysm, my decision to not return notwithstanding, it’s a great game and I am sure Cataclysm will elevate things to a whole new level.

    @Wasdstomp, yup. I am actually sort of sad I will miss the new Deadmines, a place I spent soooooo many hours in as a rookie. But such is life, sometimes you just gotta move on. :)

  6. Krothar
    December 7, 2010 at 8:48 pm | #6

    This post makes me a sad panda. I started back this week and was hoping to level along side my short fatty paladin brother of old. I get your point though, I haven’t really missed not playing over the past year at all. But I am a sucker for new content and I do love to level. I’m sure I will phase out again soon though after reaching cap. The grind for gear and hours of raiding has completely lost its appeal. If you change your mind and wanna come play with the old gang, we won’t hold it against you ;)

  7. December 8, 2010 at 12:02 am | #7

    I know in my heart Cataclysm is the last time I will buy a WoW stamped product. I too have played it since beta and love it. I try other games and say to myself, “Why when I have WoW?” I feel 2011 brings some games I want to play for a long time. If they fall on their faces, I think I’ll be done with MMOs for a couple years. Just enough time to forget what WoW was like. But there is about 6 months with nothing worth a crap on the horizon. Why not relax and fiddle around in WoW one last time?

  8. December 8, 2010 at 2:11 am | #8

    I’m still playing in the cataclysm, but I think I’ve also mellowed out over the years. No more urge to be like OMG MUST GET ON AT 12:01AM AND GET TO 85 NAO!!! I wouldn’t say WoW has lost its appeal, but something definitely feels like it has gone away. And something else tells me I’ll be dropping my WoW sub like a hot potato once SWTOR comes out.

  9. December 8, 2010 at 7:15 pm | #9

    @Krothar: Goddamnit man! Couldn’t you have told me this a few weeks back when I was still desperately trying to make up my mind? That would have sealed the deal. I still have the Demonidus, my lock that we leveled 1-6 together.

    @Scarybooster: Your argument is valid bud, but as I said, there are a plethora of other options, and the ones I listed above currently exist in the MMO genre alone. I haven’t yet touched upon the legion of non-MMOs that i can occupy my time with. That being said, my all time favorite arena is the world of MMOs, so even if I am not playing cataclysm, it doesn’t mean I won’t be on top of all that transpires in WoW and in the rest of the world.

    @MMOGamerChick:I’ll catch you in SW:TOR then sista!

  10. Krothar
    December 8, 2010 at 7:20 pm | #10

    I have a level 6 Worgen now named Howlcapone…I think he could use a warlock leveling partner…

    Oh and seriously you should check out the new starting zones…such a much better experience than any WoW had offered before. And not to mention getting to watch cut-scenes in the middle of dungeon runs, having the environment change around you as a result of what you watching in the video…so much new stuff that is worth coming back for.

    Not to tempt you or anything…just trying to scratch that itch…or give you something fun to blog about ;)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

