Home > Bronte, Cataclysm, World of Warcraft > “A Love Letter from Krothar” or “What Makes MMOs Special”

“A Love Letter from Krothar” or “What Makes MMOs Special”

A Love Letter from Krothar

It has been less than 3 hours since I posted my top seven games for 2010, listing WoW as one of them, and claiming how I had quit the game, but maybe something will provoke me to go back to it.

An hour after I put that up, I got the following mail from my friend Krothar (yes that is his toon’s name, who would name their kid ‘Krother’? Sheesh!), fellow dwarf paladin and one of the best damn paladin healers I have ever had the pleasure of playing with.

Some of the boys and I have been running 5 mans together… we talk about you often and make fun of you even more often.  But only because you miss your fatty dwarf.
Happy new year from the boys who remember the good old days.
– Krothar and the CoV vanilla crew.
P.S.: Milamber wants you to post this on your blog because he wants to be famous.

He also attached this (he’s the very gay-sounding “Krowe” in the screenshot below – hey what’s what the stupid name man?):
Click to enlarge, and read the chat.

What Makes MMOs Special

This is where the MMO genre shines. Where other genres are remembered by the gameplay experiences you had or what systems they had in place, or the awesome graphics, or the epic storylines, MMOs are defined, in addition to the above and more importantly, by their communities, the relationships you forge along the way, and the friends that you make. I have played with nearly everyone in the screenshot above for nearly five years, and no amount of high end graphics (hello Crysis), epic lore (hello Dragon Age), storyline (hello Mass Effect), quirky mechanics (hello Plants and Zombies), atmospheric design (hello Metro 2033) or stellar questing/mission structure (hello Starcraft II) can replace the feeling of going up against a tough battle with the same tried and tested crew that you know won’t fail.

And even if it will fail, it will still be a helluva lotta fun!

Goddamn it guys! Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in!

  1. Krothar
    January 4, 2011 at 2:35 am

    You know it is only a matter of time before you hit that reactivate account button. I mean…what is $15 to have some laughs with old friends…

    And the ‘gay’ name is because someone had my name reserved on the server from when we transfered to Sleepless Knights. So I used this name because people always just called me ‘Kro’ for short anwyay…but that was also taken. I eventually got the name back, but I was already near max level, so that just became my rogues name now. Long story, but rerolled toon=rerolled name.

  2. Krothar
    January 4, 2011 at 2:35 am

    PS…your blog is snowing. You really should fix the hole in the roof.

  3. January 4, 2011 at 2:38 am

    That’s the biggest reason, lately, I seem to always be pulled back into WoW, my friends 🙂 They make the game a better place to be!

  4. Leto
    January 4, 2011 at 3:04 am

    Krothar, you didn’t send him one with me as a giant purple tree? You monster.

  5. Milamber
    January 4, 2011 at 3:08 am

    See that stone dwarf in the background there? Yea, he’s a total badass. He also owns Maic as a pet. Maic is fat.

    You know you wanna come back and shoot the shit with us.

  6. Peebers
    January 4, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Maybe I’ll have replaced these last 3 greens before bizno gets back so I won’t whine so much in heroics.

  7. January 4, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    You’ve nailed it – it’s the reason I play WoW over, say, Fallen Earth – which is a game with such a great atmosphere and cool mechanics that I really want to be playing. Not enough time for both, and cool peeps I can hang out with and have experiences with win the battle for my time more often than not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

