Home > Cataclysm, Expansion, World of Warcraft > “My First Quest in Cataclysm” or “Green > Purple”

“My First Quest in Cataclysm” or “Green > Purple”

Yes I am back to WoW. I had to. When you play for five years with kids like these, you aren’t left with a lot of choice.

It took a lot longer to get back into the game than I expected. The UI restructuring alone took well over four hours, and you will see it in the screenshot below. I also had to redo my talents, which took a while because I decided to level as a Holy Paladin (shocking I know), learned the new talents, including the faster flying (I can now fly at 409% travel speed, factoring in Crusader Aura and 10% speed increase from guild talents), cleared out my inventory, learned the new mastery for all of my professions and picked up Archeology. I even did the cooking and fishing dailies.

I leveled extensively on my sea horse in Cataclysm, so in the interesting of a varied starting experience, I decided to go with Hyjal. My very first quest was “The Earth Rises”, the completion of which rewarded the Scalded Rockscale Shoulderpads. And I promptly replaced my epic shoulders from Wrath of the Lich King.

Now granted I didn’t raid much beyond half of Ulduar, but come on man, first quest, first green? *sigh*

Click to enlarge

  1. January 6, 2011 at 2:37 am | #1

    In the days running up to Cataclysm, I speed leveled my human paladin to 80 because I decided to make her my main for the expansion. I hit max level one day before launch, so I celebrated my blacksmithing an epic two-handed mace to carry into Hyjal. My very first quest reward was a two-handed sword that made my epic mace look like vendor trash. So, yeah, I know where you’re coming from.

    • January 6, 2011 at 1:58 pm | #2

      Haha, yeah I can sympathize. I really wish there was a better way to scale items, but it seems there really isn’t!

  2. January 6, 2011 at 5:04 am | #3

    The “housekeeping” tasks upon returning to WoW after a long period of absence are the worst! The UI clean up, the talent points redo, I went through all the too. I was also like you in that I stopped raiding halfway through Ulduar. I had no problems replacing my epics though. In fact, I felt relief that I spent the last 10 months playing other games and doing other things than grinding heroics or raids for epics :P

    • January 6, 2011 at 1:48 pm | #4

      I agree man, god that sucks. I remember telling myself: “Won’t take but an hour!” 3 hours later I am still there. Thankfully my folders was intact from WotLK, a lot of addon settings were also intact. Otherwise it would have taken much longer!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

