Home > Bronte > “Personal Reflections 2010” or “Gaming Reflections 2010”

“Personal Reflections 2010” or “Gaming Reflections 2010”

This post is late again, and the scheduled year-enders for January 3rd and 4th are combined, but I felt it was important that I take a look back, so here it is!

Personal Reflections

2010 was a very tumultuous year for me personally. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, as you will see in a moment. My point is that the year was a roller coaster ride, and I can’t recall many day when I felt at peace, or relaxed; something was always afoot.

  • This was also the only year for as long as I can remember that I didn’t take a vacation or even an extended break from work.
  • I have also been sick quite a few times this year, more often than years prior, which has me concerned about my personal health.
  • I also got engaged this year to one of the smartest women I have ever met in my life.
  • I switched jobs and got out from under the clutches of the most megalomaniac, egotistical, fiend of an employer imaginable.
  • I joined a new organization, and so far, despite the long hours and the hectic nature of the job, I am having a blast, and I couldn’t be happier.
  • The new job also doubled my salary down to the last penny, so that’s a nice added fringe benefit as well.
  • I also bought my first brand new car, and that gives you a feeling of accomplishment like none other I have experienced so far.

Gaming Reflections

You can see a list of my favorite games from 2010 here. 2010 was a stellar year for gaming, so many titles and so little time.

  • My blog went through some odd ups and downs. I started the blog in October 2009, but due to the draconian policies at my prior organization, I had to shut it down. I started it back up again in March 2010, under the impression that the situation had been amicably resolved. I stopped again in late July/early August because of further issues and joined a new company around the same time. I had to stay away from blogging to ensure my dues weren’t screwed with. In October 2010 the dues cleared, and I was merrily blogging again. So far so good.
  • Massively also named this blog as one of the blogs to watch in 2011. It is 2011. You are watching. Bravo!
  • I played a wide variety of MMOs, my favorite genre of gaming. I played Wrath of the Lich King, but eventually got jaded and left.
  • I played LOTRO, it has been streamlined and the starting experience, although still lacking, is better than what it used to be. It’s also F2P, so you can’t go wrong with that, and the F2P model has innate completionist elements which I thoroughly enjoy.
  • I also dabbled in Darkfall, and got my ass handed to me on multiple occasions. It is a tough as nails game, and not very forgiving.
  • I played Perpetuum for nearly a week or so, thanks to a free trial code, courtesy of River. It is Eve Online in spirit, and falls terrible short in execution. Couple that with their latest achievement, 15,000 months of sold game time, and you’ve got a very odd, very niche title that could swing either way.
  • World of Tanks was another. Man that game takes some getting used to, there seems to be a lot of … waiting.
  • Outside the MMO world I discovered a penchant (and skill) for driving games with Split/Second.
  • I tried my hand at Super Street Fighter IV because of the constant bickering of a few friends; realized that I absolutely sucked at the fighting genre, and quit promptly after.
  • There was Lara Croft, a disappointment at the end of the day, but some of the puzzles were genuinely entertaining.
  • Machinarium elevated the bar for flash-based puzzle games to an unprecedented level. If you haven’t tried this one yet, get into it now.
  • I played a ton of shooters in 2010: Medal of Honor, Gears of War 2, Call of Duty: Black Ops, Metro 2033, to name a few.
  • As well as some solid RPGs (and hybrids), Mass Effect 2, Dragon Age (I know it released in 2009, but I finished it sometime in March 2010), and Mafia II (I know I included this in this category, not sure where else).
  • And then there was the jewel in my gaming for 2010: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty. Solid singleplayer campaign, solid multiplayer. Blizzard has one aspect of RTS gaming down: If it isn’t broken don’t fix it; and perfect what you have before you dabble outside of the comfort zone.

If I were to use just one word to describe 2010, it would be: Bananas. 2010 was Bananas. Hopefully 2011 will calm the fuck down, especially since I will be turning 30 this year. Sheesh!

Categories: Bronte
  1. theerivs
    January 5, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    I’m glad someone got to use that code. I sincerely hope this year goes better, being engaged, job you’re happy with, plus a new car. Looks like it’s starting to look good to me.

  2. January 5, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    If I were to use just one word to describe 2010, it would be: Bananas.

    Mine would be floccinaucinihilipilification, but I’ve probably been hanging around our captcha system longer than you.

    Massively also named this blog as one of the blog in 2011. It is 2011. You are watching.

    Oh yes, I’ll be watching your blog in 2011. Like a hawk. I’m watching it right now. Oh yeah, it likes it when I watch.

  3. xXJayeDuBXx
    January 6, 2011 at 4:57 am

    Congrats on the engagement you old timer!

  4. January 6, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Grats on the engagement! And the car too! I’m going to be buying my first brand new car in the next couple months as well, I’m so confused as to what I’m looking for.

  5. January 6, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    @theerivs – yeah man, thanks for the code again. And yes, life is beginning to look a lot better moving forward 🙂

    @Melmoth – I pity da fool who came up against “floccinaucinihilipilification” as a captcha word!

    @Dub – Thanks dude, much appreciated!

    @MMOGamerChick – I deliberated with my choice for quite some time as well, but at the end of the day, I think it matters little, as long as its new, and its your own. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

