Home > Cataclysm, World of Warcraft > “Jack Bauden” or “The Earthinator”

“Jack Bauden” or “The Earthinator”

Wow is full of pop-culture references. I remember in vanilla WoW when I accidentally figured out who Muigin and Larion in Un’Goro crater were referring to. Cataclysm added a metric ton of new references to this list, and took the reference game to a whole new level. Although there were many memorable moments leveling from 80-85, to moments in particular stand out.

The first was a quest in Stormwind where Matthias Shaw, leader of the SI:7 asks you to locate and liberate one missing Jack Bauden. Now as a die-hard fan of 24, the moment I received this quest, I knew it was a reference to 24. Lo and behold, when I finally find Bauden, this is what he says to me: “I am SI:7 Agent Jack Bauden. This is the longest day of my life.”

Click to enlarge

 

I used to love Strong Bad at one point (still do!) I can’t remember the last time I saw it, but I have very fond memories of the Poopsmith and Strong Mad. One character particularly sticks out in memory, and that was TROGGDORRRR THE BURRRNNINATORRRR! So when I came across this NPC in Deepholm, I nearly feel off my chair laughing. Well done Blizzard! Well done indeed!

Click to enlarge

 

  1. tad
    January 26, 2011 at 5:41 am

    I really enjoy the pop culture references a ton in game, but I feel like I’m the only one who thinks they went overboard with the Indiana Jones in the expansion.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

