Home > Battlestar Galactica Online, Champions Online, DC Universe Online, F2P, Rift > “Tore Telara a New Rift” or “Superheroes Squabble” or “Battlestar Galactica: In-browser”

“Tore Telara a New Rift” or “Superheroes Squabble” or “Battlestar Galactica: In-browser”

RIFT

The new Rift trailer kicks a lot of (rift) ass. The battle between the Ascendants comes full circle, birds get caught on fire, and it is revealed that if you have giant tusks, you can kick some serious ass! Seriously though, it is the most ambitious trailer for Rift to date and although my work schedule not permitted me to play at all, I was really glad to hear they were expanding the beta window to Saturday. That implies I can squeeze in a few hours and hopefully get a good idea of what Rift is all about. I will have a full write-up over the weekend, as soon as I figure out whether the NDA is in effect because there seems to be conflicting information on this. (Perhaps you can answer this one Scott?)

Let me also say that I was very pleasantly surprised that a representative from Trion Worlds actually responded to my ill-advised gripe about installation and launch problems I had with Rift. Not only that, he actually offered to help and look into the matter. I don’t quite know what I like / dislike about Rift just yet, but I have to say, they’ve got mad customer service skills yo!

Watch the new trailer embedded below:

Superheroes Squabble

DCUO launched mid-January. The game seems to be doing fairly well, considering new servers are being added to the game days into the launch. Champions Online also went F2P, and I don’t think anyone has any confusions about their decision to announce a launch date right around the launch of DCUO. I am going to try my hands at Champions Online again. I have had my reservations with the game, but it has been out nearly a year and a half now, and I am hoping most of the bugs have been filtered out by now. And if Patrick’s post is any indication, the launch went a lot smoother than the disaster we faced on the original launch day back in September 2009. The option to play F2P is also quite welcoming, despite the fact that Massively.com doesn’t think the locked archetypes are a true representation of what the game may have to offer. If you want to know anything and everything about the revamped title, you can read Massively’s write-up here.

Will I try DCUO? Not yet. I’ll give it a few more months. The initial response is, admittedly, enticing. But I don’t want to get burnt again by spending my heard-earned doubloons on a sub-par game because I got sold on the hype.

Battlestar Galactica: In-browser

While we are on the subject of trailers, the folks over at Big Point have released an in-game trailer, crafted from 100% in-game footage, and now with more Vitamin C! I have to admit, despite my initial reservations about a Farmville-esque botched attempt at re-creating the fantastic universe, I am a little surprised at how detailed, graphically rich, and accurate an in-browser game can look these days. Am I confused? Did they decide to go with a full-blown 3D engine and I missed that memo? Or are those graphics a little ridiculous for an in-browser game?

I haven’t yet, but I will sure as hell sign-up for the beta now! Take a look:

  1. January 28, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Also impressed over the service. Had a concern about the pre-order and got a response within 24 hours WHILE beta was going. Also, the quick to bat fixes they issue during the betas has been impressive.

    Rift and Trion win big points on these items alone.

  2. January 28, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    I think the NDA for the Beta is dropped. Its still in effect for the Alpha, and clearly says so when you log in. I see loads of blogs posting about the RIFT beta so I’m sure its open season.

  3. January 29, 2011 at 12:17 am

    did the Guardian guy slash the Defiant tank’s neck with his arrow? (can’t really tell, also no speakers) pretty cool vid 🙂

  4. January 29, 2011 at 1:33 am

    @Elementalist – Agreed. Pleasant surprise, and I think this will be reflected in my pending preview of the title.

    @Gankalicious – When I went through the EULA (yes I am one of the few crazies who do that!) and I have a vague recollection of reading something about an NDA: hence the confusion. But Scott from Trion already confirmed it for me, so thank you for the further confirmation.

    @Jomu – I am not sure, but it was sure as hell cool, especially the stealth technology!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

