Home > MineCraft, ZOMG Zombies! > “Aaaaaand I am Addicted to Minecraft” or “Never Thought That’d Happen”

“Aaaaaand I am Addicted to Minecraft” or “Never Thought That’d Happen”

So I am addicted to Minecraft now. I never thought that would happen. The game looks weird, the graphics looks straight out an alpha version of the original Doom. The mechanics sounded odd and there was no storyline, no rails on which to merrily travel and no “endgame scenario”. yet I am addicted. I can’t get enough, and I look forward to the next play session.

Here are a few things I love about Minecraft:

  • Even sitting at work, I am trying to build the logic gate circuits for fully automated minecraft subway system for my mining needs
  • Even though dying has no penalty aside from losing your inventory, the game is so well designed that I absolutely abhor dying.
  • I kept expanding my house by a little bit every few nights. Then I realized I needed to mine to get the better materials. So I build a tunnel with a glass ceiling to the nearest mountain for digging through it (took 8 in-game days). Then I realized that I could have stayed where I was and just dug down to the bedrock (which is allegedly 64 blocks below sea level) and I didn’t have to mine a mountain to do it.
  • Despite the realization above, I am in a new, carved-into-the-mountainside abode, merrily mining away underneath.
  • I don’t have a long-term goal with the game yet, and I am OK with that.
  • Yesterday, I build an extremely efficient mob trap around my house. Water streams from all around dragged mobs from up to 20 blocks away to a lava trap that killed them and transported the drops down a 1-block feeding passage into a trench built around my house, but covered completely, so even at night I could walk around it once in a while and collect leather, pork, bones, strings, gunpowder, and arrows to my heart’s content.
  • And finally, despite being some of the most unconvincing looking enemies, the Zombies in Minecraft give me the heebie-jeebies like no other digital Zombie ever has!
Categories: MineCraft, ZOMG Zombies!
  1. Milamber
    May 2, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    You, Norlath and I need to play some multiplayer together.

    • May 2, 2011 at 7:01 pm

      Bring it on biatch!

  2. Milamber
    May 2, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    You act like we will be competing or something haha it’s minecraft not warcraft… we are going to build awesome giant dongs together

  3. May 2, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Glad you’re having fun! It’s a great game for explorers and builders, I tend to go through phases where I’ll play obsessively for a week or three and then take a break.

    As far as the bedrock, thats true. The world is 128 blocks tall, you can’t build anything above block 127. The ocean level is around 63, and bedrock exists from levels 0-4.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

