Home > Opinion, World of Warcraft > “Why I Quit WoW, Again” or “The Endless Cycle”

“Why I Quit WoW, Again” or “The Endless Cycle”

I have “quit” WoW a grand total of… well actually I have lost count at this point. It is a great game, one that has been the cause of many a triumphs and digital glories, but also one that stagnates over time and becomes too “casual-unfriendly”. I have also come to realize that WoW is a great game if you are at the top of the food pile, the 10% or so of guilds that raid regularly, accomplish goals and manage to dent the world in their own way. If you don’t have a guild to run things with, you’re either on your own, or you are playing with a rather large contingent of blithering idiots who can’t tell their two handed mace from their short sword.

Over the course of time I have started to run out of time. In college, I could get back from classes, do a bit of work, raid for four hours on a stretch, play a little more, and still have time to go out with friends for a couple of drinks. Now there are several days when I can’t play anything because everything is packed in so tightly, there is no wiggle room. It has been brought to my attention on a few occasions that I “need to learn how to say ‘no'”, and I “need to lessen the load on my plate.” But all of that is easier said than done when you are involved in as many things as I am.

The ‘gain’ vs. ‘fun’ Debate

WoW, by the end of it had become a chore. I logged in every day, and because of the lack of time, I would try to maximize my ‘gain’ in the game. Veteran MMO players will understand this. There is a very thin line between maximizing your gain from the game (be it loot, gold, experience, or anything else that somehow advances your character in some dimension), and just having fun. Years ago, leading a guild, downing the toughest raid bosses was fun, because I had all the time in the world to spare. Now everything was centered around the maximum gain. I realized soon that I hated what I was doing in WoW. I would log in every day, finish the compulsory dailies, and try strenuously to find a half-competent group to run a 5-man with, followed by some AH manipulation and then log off till the next day.

Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

It was monotonous, boring, and more than a little tedious. By the end I was just trying to justify paying for the subscription in-game, because I somehow owed it to those measly $15 to put in my time and advance my character in whichever small way possible. And during all this, I wasn’t having any fun at all.

So that is why I quit.

Categories: Opinion, World of Warcraft
  1. August 2, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Such a familiar song man, one I know too well. The last time I quit WoW I think I was level 84 and I just didn’t have the desire to grind up to max level, then do the dungeon gear grind, the pvp gear grind, then the raid gear grind all over again. I knew I was done when I no longer missed it any more.

    But it’s not really sad! I no longer pay a subscription fee to any game and there are so many games go play. I usually stay away from most MMO’s (Yes, I’ll play SWTOR and probably GW2, but never as much as I played WoW) and play things that I can get in and out of easily, like League of Legends. It’s quite refreshing, and I realized there was a whole other world of games out there that I knew nothing about because all of my game time went to WoW.

    You’ll be better off, enjoy the new gaming world outside of WoW that you now find yourself in 🙂

  2. August 2, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    You’ll be back 🙂 Nobody leaves WoW.

  3. August 2, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    When you’ve hit that point, it is best to walk away. I have also unsubscribed more times than I can count. The most recent was this weekend. I didn’t go away burned out this time, so there is a chance I will return in the future.

    Thank goodness that there are so many other games to enjoy.

  4. August 3, 2011 at 12:29 am

    @Anjin: I agree. I wasn’t burnt out by this point, there wasn’t much that I was doing to get burnt out on. But I did realize that I was simply not having fun. It was too monotonous and the “character advancement” was so negligible and rudimentary, it simply wasn’t worth it.

    @Brenda: Quite possible. I have quit and come back enough times to know they could release a new expansion tomorrow that has all the promise of a fresh start and kickass new features. The only problem is that I know for a fact that I will still be pressed for time in the same manner.

  5. August 3, 2011 at 12:34 am

    @Brentbro: Yes I will have to try out this League of Legends that everyone raves about!

    But check out Firefall, it’s launching in December!

  6. August 3, 2011 at 3:42 am

    not a big fan of dailies myself either; heroes don’t do dailies 😉

  7. Milamber
    August 4, 2011 at 2:40 am

    You’ll be back again when Mists of Pandaria comes out. In the mean time, I’ll see yo ass in SWTOR (on the republic side, hopefully).

  8. August 4, 2011 at 5:28 am

    I quit WoW myself late last year, after several years of dedication to the game, for pretty much the same reason as you. That is, I no longer had the time needed to play the parts of the game I liked the most & the rest of the game was unchallenging. But I needed something to break my fall & went to RIFT (the first time I quit, it was Aion).

    RIFT has kept my attention for several months but now I realise, it is a shadow (a beautiful, finely crafted shadow) of what I enjoyed in WoW & I still needed to commit more time than I had to get to the juicy bits, so recently my time in Telara has fallen off significantly.

    Also, like yourself, I have discovered the world of ‘other games’ which fills the gaming gap in my life to a large extent. But something in me yearns for the sort of new home that only an MMO can provide, I just don’t think they’ve built it yet…

  9. August 10, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    @Jomu: Hahaha, I think you are getting into a larger debate here, for I haven’t felt like a “hero” in just about any MMO, with the possible exception of Eve Online.

    @Milamber: You really think that is the next expansion?

    @Comptess: I played RIFT beta, but i just didn’t want to dole out another $60 plus a monthly fees for hat largely felt like an improves WoW clone. This is why i am waiting for titles like Firefall and The Secret World.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

