Home > Bronte, Immersion > Thought of the Day: “Bronte’s Hypocricy” or “Bronte’s Oddity”

Thought of the Day: “Bronte’s Hypocricy” or “Bronte’s Oddity”

Psychochild’s post made me think about an interesting quirk in my video-gaming habits.

I am incredibly forgiving of the lack of immersion (or at least a clear attempt to create the illusion thereof) in single-player games.

But I am viciously opposed, and very disappointed when any immersion-breaking elements pop-up in MMOs.

I don’t know if that makes me a hypocrite, or just plain weird. But I do wonder if other MMO players, particularly those that are vocal about their experiences, feel the same way or completely disagree.

Categories: Bronte, Immersion
  1. August 19, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    Personally, I find it a lot easier to drop out of immersion in an MMO because of the other players. Maybe that’s what you’re focusing on, you need the world to be a lot more consistent because the other players are constantly there to drop you out of immersion if anything in the game jars you?

  2. August 19, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Hmm, I think I’m actually the opposite O_o

    I’m more tolerant of lack of immersion in MMOs for some reason, maybe because somewhere in the back of my mind I realize it’s difficult to create environment and situations that will appeal to thousands playing in the same world at the same time. I’d like to think it’s different for single player games, but really, I guess it’s not because either way the developer is still trying to make an immersive experience for a huge audience. I don’t know, I’m going to go ahead and call it an oddity.

  3. August 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    @Brain: I see your point, but I think it is more than that. And games like WoW are especially guilty of this with their stupid vanity pets and tongue-in-cheek references to contemporary pop culture. I will have to give some more thought to this disparity though.

    @MMOGamerChick: I see your point as well, but isn’t it MMOs that claim that they need heroes to save/alter/save the world, and without said heroes, the world would be engulfed in chaos and eternal destruction? And then they ask you to pick 6 watermelons. And even that task is insufficient because they need 6 more watermelons after that, and after that, and after that…

  4. August 23, 2011 at 4:14 am

    have you been reading my entries? 😉 😉
    immersion is pretty important for me in most games, but if i’m having fun, i normally forget things that break it

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

