Home > Transmorgification, World of Warcraft > “Transmorgificate my Fist in Your Face” or “Too Little Too Late”

“Transmorgificate my Fist in Your Face” or “Too Little Too Late”

The Tier 2 paladin set was probably the best looking set Blizzard managed to come up with for the paladin class.

The tier took some effort to obtain, especially considering that all the pieces were given out in two separate content patches. The helm dropped from Onyxia and the legs from Ragnaros. But you had to wait until the release of Blackwing Lair to get the remaining six pieces. The set looked awesome, and at the time could only be worn by Humans and Dwarfs. No the Draenei’s stupid spaceship hadn’t crashed yet, and the Horde did not have Paladins (as the Alliance did not have Shamans – I know new players, I know that sounds frightening).

I had all eight pieces of the armor, and with each raiding tier, we hoped that we would get a set that would be as badass-looking as Tier 2, but to no avail. We got sets that made us look like a cross between Gundam and a retarded Transformer, but never anything that was as impressive as Tier 2. The Burning Crusade brought with it some hope and a purple (ugh!) version of the same set, but that was quickly replaced by high-end raiders such as myself.

For five years the Tier 2 set collected dust in my bank. I would take it out infrequently when we had a retro-vanilla-WoW party in Ironforge, but other than that it just remained in my bank, unwanted, useless, sad.

Two months prior to quitting WoW in May, I deleted the set to make space for a lot of other items I was stock-piling. Two months after I quit, Transmorgification was announced.

You can understand if I want to high-five Blizzard in the face with a frying pan right about now.

  1. Milamber
    August 30, 2011 at 12:39 am

    I’m sure if you wrote a ticket you could get it back. Most of the GMs are pretty nice and helpful like this one time I accidentally made a leather belt instead of a mail belt and they remade the belt BoE so I could sell it and get mats back for the other belt. It’s not like giving you back your T2 would make you OP or something. I don’t have my T2 either except for the now defunct Ony helm that you can’t get anymore after she became a 10man or whatever.

    • August 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      It’s been a good five or six months I think…Maybe more.

  2. August 30, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Ouch!

    Yeah, if you put a ticket in before too much time goes by (or the masses start deciding to do the same thing) you might can get it back.

    I still have my S1arena set banked, I do have a few items I wish I had kept but nothing of a huge deal. I still am sort of annoyed for not being able to wear holiday items (items w/o stats).

    • August 30, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      @kaozz: The additional problem is that I have also unsubbed. It seems silly to sub again just to have my stubby Paladin look a certain way. But then again, it is so damn tempting!

  3. September 1, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    I love the last line of your post; that’s pretty much how I feel about many of Blizzard’s decisions with WoW since the end of WotLK.

    • September 1, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      Well can ya blame me?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

