Home > Anti-Social Behavior, Bronte, Guild, World of Warcraft > “Starting Anew” or “A Case of False Guild Advertising”

“Starting Anew” or “A Case of False Guild Advertising”

Starting Anew

As I have mentioned a few times, I have started playing World of Warcraft again, but this time, I am trying something new:

  1. I am playing on the EU servers. I had been playing on the US servers, despite moving halfway across the world, and the latency was barely manageable. I have a latency of about 100ms, which spikes occasionally to a maximum of 150ms. Very manageable.
  2. I am starting from scratch. I have a new account and as such no money, no resources, no BoA items.
  3. I am playing as Horde. I have never played as a Horde character before, save a Tauren Hunter that I got to level 20 on launch day back in November of 2004.

I am having a blast going back to the basics. But even as I marvel at the fluidity of quest design and quest-hub-hopping (that should be a term), I am painfully aware that soon I will hit level 60, and then I will have to bear through the endless field of perpetual depression that is Hellfire Peninsula.

I am already level 50, an Undead Frost Mage called Cladtyrant. Bronte was already taken, and I didn’t feel like naming myself Brôñtë, because that is just foolish. The amount of experience needed to get to level 50 seems to have been cut by three-quarters from the vanilla WoW days. I remember the time when getting to level 60 was a marathon endurance test of your mental capabilities, as your reservoirs of patience ran thin and you trudged along painfully to the end.

A Case of False Guild Advertising

In my teen levels I was approached by the guild master of the guild I am currently in. “Join us”, he said. “We are a social guild that believe in helping one another and working together toward common goals. We can help you level and provide you with necessary guidance.” Up until that point, I was leveling solo, and I was in uncharted territory (Horde), so I asked a few questions pertaining to requirements and rules/regulations, and finding everything quite “casual” in nature, I agreed to join.

At this point, that seems to have been a mistake. The guild was level 1 when I joined. It is now level 4, so its not like I am benefiting immensely from perks. Every time I have asked a question in guild chat, be it quest-related, a plea for help with a particular area, or just a random comment, I have been met with resounding silence. The irritating aspect is that whenever I see a question in guild chat, I respond 9even do my own research on WowHead if needed) to try and be helpful. Even then there is no response, no “thank you”, or “hey I didn’t think of that!”, or even an “OK.” There is just silence, and silence, in this case, is pretty far from golden.

The “grouping” phenomenon seems to have permeated every aspect of the guild and people only seem to talk to certain other people if they are part of their sub-culture. I feel like I am playing a single-player game with guildmates who could easily be mistaken for well-scripted NPCs with their own lives. They simply don’t acknowledge my existence. And that is not how a massively multiplayer game is supposed to function.

You know there is a problem with your guild if you have a more meaningful conversation with people you randomly group with in instances than your own guild mates.

I want to confront the guild leader, asking him (her?) if they feel the least bit remorseful for completely misleading me. More recently, raiding seems to be getting into the picture and the guild is putting resources together towards forming a dedicated 10-man. That is cool, and whoever has the time should certainly get to use it as they see fit. Except it seems the guild is increasingly branching away from a casual to a raiding guild. Hell, they are even completing guild challenges on a daily basis.

What do you think? Am I overreacting? Should I confront the guild leader? Or should I bide my time and see how things go?

  1. September 23, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Glad to hear your enjoying WoW again, I love the new 1-60 content, I always dread Hellfire too!

    I say pick up your losses and find another guild, you’re not benefiting from anything there not even decent perks and definitely not friendship. Find one higher level guild next time so at least you can benefit from it, you might have to hop around to try a few but no big deal, right? Sounds like a shallow bunch of people and there are plenty of nicer guilds out there to pick from! Sometimes it just takes time to find the right one 🙂 Good luck with it, I know it can be lonely without a friendly guild!

  2. September 23, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    The way I see it there is only one way forward: rage-quit.

    Yes, rage quit with a long post as to why the guild failed you linked to the guild-forum (if any) then move on. It worked for me, in any case!

    If things aren’t working out you have to go and find a guild that’s better suited. As for talking to the guild leader I say why not? If he is a true leader he’ll want to get some feedback as to why someone is leaving and either make changes in the guild’s social structure, or change his recruiting techniques. If he’s uninterested, then you definitely made the right decision.

  3. September 23, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    @kaozz: Isn’t Hellfire awful? For me it is the worst questing zone, not just because of the sheer size but also because it looks so… depressing, desolate, dead.

    I think this is what I will have to do eventually, it seems to be the consensus for most people that I have sought advice from regarding this particular issue. I mean why put myself through the unnecessary torture especially if I am getting next to nothing out of it. The guild is benefiting though, both because I try to be helpful in chat and also because I am contributing to the guild leveling process.

    @Gank: The problem isn’t being lonely. I made my character on The Maelstrom because I have several friends on that server. Granted they don’t (mostly) know each other and don’t exactly coalesce into anything meaningful as far as companionship goes. But this guild is a great example of how not to treat outsiders.

  4. September 23, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    1) I know that everyone hates on Hellfire Peninsula, but I have always had a soft spot (in my skull) for it. I think it goes back to the fact that I started WoW right before TBC came out and reaching HF was a huge accomplishment for me. That said, you can walk straight through to Zangarmarsh (one of my favorite zones in the game) if you want a challenge.

    2) Get out immediately. Being outside of the clique in a guild is no good.

    • September 24, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      @Anjin: 1. I think I will do that. I will level until I am 60 within the vanilla zones. And at 60, I will go straight to Zangarmarsh. Besides, about 50-60% of my experience is coming from instances anyway. I think Zangarmarsh, Terrokar Forest/Nagrand, and then maybe Netherstorm will be enough to get me to 70.

      2. Yes I think it’s time to cut the losses and peace out.

  5. September 24, 2011 at 12:05 am

    If a guild isn’t meeting your most basic social needs, leave. I don’t really understand why some people join guilds then don’t interact, but it happens… some people just want to have a guild tag next to their name, I guess.

    I don’t think it’s something you’re likely to change, either, since you seem to be alone in wanting socialization there. I don’t see a lot of point talking to the guild leader about it, as that’s really just an exercise in finding someone to blame, without being constructive.

    Were I in your position, I’d simply leave. I’d send a message to the guild leader (in game, on the guild forums, whatever) and that’d be the end of it.

    • September 24, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      @foolsage: The problem isn’t they they don’t interact. They interact plenty. They just don’t interact with me. There was another incident last night. A guild merged with this one last week. They all suddenly left because of some issue over loot distribution in a raid. When I asked what happened, the GL said, who cares, at least they leveled us a bit, so no regrets!

  6. September 24, 2011 at 12:53 am

    I would just quit the guild and move on. I wouldn’t even bother sending the guild leader a whisper or mail, since it sounds like there’s been no communication from him once you were recruited.

    • September 24, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      @Blue Kae: Yup, that seems to be the general consensus. Time to go!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

