Home > Bronte > “Losing Purpose” or “Let’s See if This Thing Still Works”

“Losing Purpose” or “Let’s See if This Thing Still Works”

I stopped blogging for two months. Not because I had nothing to say, but because I was increasingly aware of a pattern in my posts that I was just not comfortable with. Let’s see if you can agree with it:

  1. Most of the posts were too negative. I found myself bitching about a lot of things that really weren’t that bad to begin with. Constructive criticism and always questioning are good traits, sure, but I felt like I had taken it a little too far.
  2. More importantly, I realized that I was no longer blogging about the games that I was playing, but that I was playing games that I was blogging about. This is a critical point for me. Somewhere along the way, I stopped playing what I enjoy, and started playing what “everyone else was playing” just to be a part of the conversation. I feel that somewhere in all this, Are We New At This lost its identity.

So after months of deliberation, I realized this blog isn’t about how many hits it gets, or who reads it, or whether I am discussing the most “in” topic. This blog is about me, and my adventures in the wonderful, magical world of video games. And that is all it will be from now on.

First post with this mindset tomorrow, stay tuned.

Categories: Bronte
  1. December 27, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Welcome back!

    • December 28, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      Thanks Gank. You are delicious.

  2. December 27, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    That sounds like a healthy way to go about it. Can’t wait to see what you have to say.

    • December 28, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      Wait no longer my bullet-oriented friend! It’s up, and it’s pissed off at Skyrim!

  3. January 1, 2012 at 4:07 am

    That’s the way to do it!

  4. January 3, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Wondered where you’d gone to. Welcome back. Also… is it just me or does that flowerpot need a whale?

    • January 4, 2012 at 4:00 pm

      @Leit, hahaha. Yes. Yes it does!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

