Home > Bronte, Skyrim > “Fried Desktop” or “Stupid Electrical Storms”

“Fried Desktop” or “Stupid Electrical Storms”

An accurate portrayal of the last thing my desktop ever saw...

So an electric storm fried my PC. The laptop and the Xbox are still intact, and I am grateful. But this also means that 120 hours of work in Skyrim has effectively effervesced onto whatever the digital equivalent of heaven is.

I came up with a creative solution for backing up my save game data though. All games that I have at this point, I am redirecting their folders as shortcuts in my Dropbox (check it out if you don’t know what it is, its amazing!) This way even if one PC fries, the files are synced across all computers that I have Dropbox installed on, and on their website!

Unless anyone else has any clever ideas…

Also wanted to share this little gem of a conversation I had with someone in trade chat recently:

 

Categories: Bronte, Skyrim
  1. January 17, 2012 at 2:52 am

    i use Dropbox too; very good idea with the save files

    • January 18, 2012 at 2:30 pm

      @Leit: Yup, and the synching seems to work out pretty well.

      Protip: if you play WoW (or another MMO with addons), sync the addon folder across multiple PCs! It’s working out great so far!

  2. January 17, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Most likely “don’t worry”. That one’s a soft ball. It’s when people start pulling things like “teotwawki” that you’re in trouble.

    • January 18, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      @Leit: Yes. I used to be one of those people who went with “don’t worry”. Then I took an arrow to the knee.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

