Home > PvP, Star Wars: The Old Republic > “There is a Disturbance in the Force” or “SWTOR Several Players vs Player”

“There is a Disturbance in the Force” or “SWTOR Several Players vs Player”

Slightly imbalanced!

Empire < Republic.

I don’t know what it is about the Dark Side of the Force, but clearly it is very alluring to human beings. With the Empire outnumbering the Republic forces by a considerable volume, it was only a matter of time before the imbalance in the PvP blew up in the Republic collective, melting faces. My question is this, did no one really see this coming?

Now I love BioWare. Aside from the mediocre Dragon Age II, I don’t think they have released a game in recent memory that has entertained me beyond expectations. What boggles me is how is it possible that so much time, effort, energy, money and resources were poured into a top of the line AAA MMO, and the multiplayer aspect of it is broken? Take Tol Barad for example. It is an open PvP zone most of the time, and anyone can come and go as they please, except for when every 2-3 hours there is a power struggle with both factions vying for control of the zone for the next 2-3 hours. The horrid mechanics of Tol Barad notwithstanding, what is great about this zone is that the system throws everyone out at the start of the fight, and brings in an equal number of players to face off. If 10 horde queue and 20 alliance queue, only 10 from each side will get in to ensure the fight is balanced.

Despite sinking millions of dollars into SWTOR, and, as my friend Matthew would claim, “revamping and or polishing the best WoW has to offer”, somehow they missed this little possibility. The forums are now ablaze with players up in arms about the whole fiasco, some even saying they are thankful for it, because now they can quit before the payment cycle kicks in after the first free month. Ouch. Offering incentives for players to come slaughter one another in world PvP is a great idea, if BioWare can ensure that the an equivalent number of players from either faction will engage in battle. Given that BioWare already had data indicating higher numbers in one faction, this should never have happened in the first place.

I have always been partial to being an early adopter. The initial feedback about SWTOR is positive, not overwhelmingly so, but the kind that piques your curiosity the more opinions you peruse. However, it is BioWare’s solution to this and similar future debacles that will determine if I ever invest in the title. And yes, I too will be joining the Empire!

  1. January 19, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    So, I would argue the point that world PVP isn’t entirely broken, but after the documented Ilum fiascos, I really can’t. At all. I tried out Ilum a week ago on my 50 Sniper and it was .. challenging. Not in the ‘Oh these quests are rather hard! I must concentrate and utilize all my game knowledge!’ way, but in the ‘Why is the mob clipping through the floor and evading and why does this quest object not work and oh god why is the framerate here 10 FPS’ way. I was more than a little disappointed and left the planet after only an hour of buggy questing.

    And here’s the major problem with world PVP … it’s not really even logistically possible until the late 20s, early 30s … on Tatooine, you can have some, but you’re generally only going to meet on the Dune Sea and there’s really not much chance of actually crossing paths. You’d have to pretty much hunt them down. Same goes for Alderaan. Belsavis is the first real opportunity you get to PVP in the open world and that’s not till the 40s. So then throwing in a whole level 50 PVP planet is sort of strange for players not used to this type of mechanic. Toss on top of that it’s a buggy nightmare, and yeah, I can sort of see players’ frustrations about it.

    So, yeah, I’m a tad frustrated with it, but it’s not ruining my fun. Not yet at least. As for faction imbalance, I’d say that’s server-to-server. Shien (my server) seems to be fairly equal, but I can understand that certain servers (especially PVP ones) are going to fantastically imbalanced. Just harken back to WoW’s Mal’Ganis, Illidan, or Blackrock. I can say that the Empire class quests seem to be more … riveting? I can’t really put my finger on it, but they just seem to be more intense than the Republic side (although the Trooper has a great story).

    • January 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      @Targeter: That is precisely my point. I expect things like these to happen in F2P titles (not subscription titles that eventually went F2P, but ones that started F2P) because they tend to be plagued with a horde of tiny bugs and issues that ruin the meta-game. But SWTOR has been in development for a very long time, it has had a ton of investment, and it was developed by BioWare. We often lambast WoW for having a ridiculously different endgame than the leveling game. It seems to me that when people say: “SWTOR is s re-hash of the best parts of WoW, improved”, the reverse also applies in that the worst parts of WoW also managed to sneak their way in.

      And yes I agree, it makes no sense to have fleeting PvP content and then open up an entire planet to fight on at the endgame.

      • January 20, 2012 at 5:58 pm

        Don’t forget that the mechanisms for balance – whether Tenacity or just plain limiting of numbers – have been subject to their own series of controversies in WoW. This doesn’t excuse BioWare from doing nothing to prevent the same issue coming up, but it does point to why they might want to be reacive rather than proacive in working off a consensus solution.

  2. Milamber
    January 25, 2012 at 3:39 am

    Empire is lame. It’s a bunch of kiddies who like torturing puppies. Republic is the side that real men play.

    But really, I’m enjoying the game. I hit the level cap and I’m a little bored but I don’t have the time to do much more than pvp so I’m in a bit of a rut. However, my weekends should open up a bit soon so I can do flashpoints. I also started an Inquisitor to see the other side, but I may switch back to Scoundrel or play the class I did in beta, Agent.

    The PvP imbalance is really hurting the game though. I lost most of my warzones due to the greater chance of running into a PvP premade and Ilum definitely needs some altering. Dunno how they can do it though…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

