Archive

Archive for May 16, 2010

“Laptop Woes” or “A New Dent in my Wallet”

May 16, 2010 Leave a comment

So my laptop is definitely cooked. It’s a Gateway machine that has served me well for over two years. The RAM is intact, the HDD is fine, even the motherboard is functional. However, the VGA chip on the motherboard is fried, and since this chip is physically integrated into the the motherboard, the only way to fix the laptop is ti replace the motherboard altogether.

Since this is a three-year old model, I can’t find a replacement motherboard anywhere, not even from the original manufacturer. So the only option I have at this point is to buy a new laptop. That will take a few days, so in the meantime, the frequency of posts here may… suffer a little.

*sigh*

Woe is me. Woe is my wallet.

Categories: Bronte