Home > In-game Event, World of Warcraft > “Eggcelent Suggestion” or “The Definition of Insanity”

“Eggcelent Suggestion” or “The Definition of Insanity”

What is the definition of insanity? Doing something over and over again with no difference in the outcome of your actions. Such is the main objective of the Noblegarden festival in World of Warcraft, an MMO I have played for a long time, and that I just subscribed to again.

While loading back in and tweaking with a few mods, I decided to check out the festivities associated with the Noblegarden event. If you would like an excellent guide on the in-game event, you can find one here. Since the most critical aspect of this event is gathering eggs, you can find a guide for quickly accumulating those eggs here.

Inspired by this last post from WoW.com and through my in-game experiences with the event, I would advise all egg-hunters to camp the following spot in Goldshire. You basically need to go to Goldshire, go around the outside of the inn, and find a little nook on the southeastern side of the building.

The left circle is where the entrance is. The right circle is where you want to be.

If you stand where I am standing in the attached screenshots, you can click on four egg spawns without having to move. A fifth one (requiring you to move) is just a little to your right.

Click to enlarge. The while circles are egg spawn points.

The spot also has the added advantage of being in the digital confines of the inn, so you will be seen as “resting” by the game in this spot, and if you logout, it will be instantaneous, instead of having to wait for 20 seconds. Enjoy!

  1. April 7, 2010 at 3:46 am

    I just don’t get the whole “egg camping” idea. I tried it last year, but found it mind-numbingly dull. It’s way more fun to go to one of the less crowded towns (my favorite is Dolanaar, but Azure Watch is great too) and just zip around with my egg basket seeing how many I can spot as I run around the town, checking all the spawn points I know about, and constantly being amazed at spotting new ones I didn’t even know were there.

    It feels like that’s how the event is *meant* to be done, you know, *hunting* for the eggs rather than just sitting in one spot and waiting for them to spawn next to you. It’s so much fun, in fact, that it makes Noblegarden my favorite of all of the seasonal festivals.

  2. April 7, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Interesting take on it. I guess I am jaded in that I associate even the least repetitious task with grinding. Although on some level agree with you in the joy of hunting eggs, having to hunt down well over 110 eggs for all the achievements (more if you get unlucky with the drops) seems a little excessive.

    The achievement Chocoholic for instance, requires you to eat 100 Noblegarden chocolates… Yowza!

    • April 7, 2010 at 9:52 pm

      It does seem like a lot, but they add up fast. I could have sworn that when I did it last year, they let me put the unopened eggs in my action bar, so I could run around the town at high speed, grabbing everything I saw and spamming the button to open the eggs between spawn points. This year, they wouldn’t let me do that, so I’d have to stop every 5-10 minutes to open eggs because my bags were filling up with them.

      I was pretty lucky, got the minipet and both the tuxedo pieces by the time I had enough eggs for Chocolate Lover + the other items I hadn’t found yet, and bought the rest of the items, forgetting there was an achievement to eat 75 more of them. Luckily, I didn’t find any of the items I’d bought in opening the other 75 eggs. It took me about two hours to finish the majority of the achievements, but to be honest, most of that was traveling around the world to the different towns because I wanted to finish Spring Fling before I logged off.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment