Home > Se7en Tidbits > Se7en Tidbits: “I Miss Lloyd” or “Unrealistic Expectations”

Se7en Tidbits: “I Miss Lloyd” or “Unrealistic Expectations”

Here are a few tidbits that caught my attention for one reason or another this week:

  • “Games, though, tend to be very bad at generating the feeling of loss in players.  I can only think of one game that made me feel like I, the player, had lost something… in Planetfall, the delightful robot companion Floyd sacrifices himself to help the player.  It’s been years now since I played Planetfall but I still remember how devastated I was when that happened.” Fool’s Age, Emotions in Games, part 2: Sorrow, Fool’s Age. [Bronte: I can think of one recent example: SPOILER WARNING –> in Dragon Age, when Duncan dies in the battle at Ostagar <– SPOILER WARNING. That was quite a profound sense of loss, even though I haven’t read the prequel books.]
  • If MMO really is a genre by itself, then the barriers that define games are going to start dropping and we’ll be seeing vast varieties of them going massive, multiplayer and online.” – Gordon, What is “MMO”, We Fly Spitfires.
  • “Every developer has to build a game that will compete with that number, even as they tell us in interviews that they are most assuredly not trying to be the next WoW Killer. And the reason they have to do that is because of us. We expect too much from our Triple-A MMOs.” – Anjin, Random Shots: Asking Too Much, Bullet Points.
Categories: Se7en Tidbits
  1. November 14, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Yeah, Dragon Age is doing a good job at immersing me in the story and making me care about the characters. I didn’t feel like the loss really resonated, but had a lot of potential in that regard. This person was presented as a very noble, sympathetic person, and the manner of his death was definitely gripping. Had it come perhaps an hour further into the story I think it’d have affected me more though.

  2. November 14, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Whoopsie, I should have given that a spoiler warning, my bad.

  3. November 15, 2009 at 12:12 am

    No worries mate. I edited the comment to clean out the spoilers. No harm done! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment